The functioning & hierarchy of the Order

General Chapter or General Conclave

Consists of the collective of all Knights and Noble women.
Formed only by Magisterial Decree, it holds and exercises all legislative power of the Order.
Overseen by the Grand Master who follows the will of the General Chapter. The Grand Master Holds overarching authority over all Knights and members of the Order.

The Magisterium or Sovereign Council

Based at the Magistral Palace.
Chaired by the Grand Master who holds legislative power to control all financial management of the Order and authority to install individuals into national and international office, i.e. Local Grand Priors, Commanders etc.

The Supreme Court

Consists of the Supreme Preceptor, High Preceptories, the Grand Seneschal and the Secretary General.
This embodies rules and discipline of the Order and delegates any issues or concerns to its advisors.

The Statutory Council

Consists of the Grand Advisor, Consistoriens, Palatine advisors, Language Advisors, General Advisors & the General Officer of the Order.
The Council takes its direction from the Magisterium.
Responsible for submitting edicts on all major cases of the Order.

The Grand Priory

A sovereign territory nominated by a Grand Prior.
The Grand Prior is responsible for maintaining rule, law and edicts of the Order within it’s territory.
The Grand Prior is nominated only by the Grand Master who is then approved at General Conclave.
The Grand Prior is supported by a Council of 9 which meets at least 9 times a year with their Bailiffs.
The Grand Prior is supported by a deputy Grand Prior.

The Bailiwick

A region with a Priory, nominated by a Bailiff.
A Bailiff is named and installed on the approval of the Grand Master and the General Conclave.
The Bailiff up is supported at District level by a group of 9 which meets at least 9 times a year with their Commanders and Chaplains.

The Commandery

A district within a region. Nominated by a Commander.

The Abbey

Nominated by the Metropolitan Abbess.

The Commander and the Abbess is supported by a committee of 9 which meets at least 9 times a year with the Priory Knights, Noble Women, Squires and applicants.